Tough 2013

January 2, 2013

No matter how one decides to cut and splice it. 2013 will be a very hard year for planters. With the current price of crude oil palm languishing at RM$300+. No one is making money. Everyone is losing. And it’s only a matter of time before a shake up will occur in the industry, forcing out the weaker players.

I have decided not to join any syndicates or consortiums – the way I see it, there is no safety in numbers, only perhaps the illusion of safety - all that these fools are doing is positioning themselves inadvertently into a kill zone. I rather take my chances by winging it all alone in blue waters. It’s 50/50. 50 that I lose everything or 50 that double what I already have. Besides this is not the first time, I’ve been in a fix. I just need to be cool headed and sort all the problems one by one as they come my way.

I am confident of ridding out this storm….Providing, I can get the daughter of the one million hectare landowner on my side. I need her as an ally. As someone who is willing to stand as guarantor.

I have come to seek an audience with her - as only she can throw me a life line in this difficult and uncertain times. 

She lives in a vast mansion in a secluded leafy area sorrounded by bodyguards, electric fences and guard dogs. She has deliberately asked them not to allow me beyond the first gate. I have been waiting here for nearly an hour without even so much as a glass of water.

I know she is watching me from the balcony strutting back and forth. As I am wearing the $10,000 Ermenegildo Zegna silk bushjacket she bought for me – wearing it will hopefully make the daughter of the one million hectare landowner the happiest woman in the world. I can’t think of a better way to start a tough 2013.

The things that I am prepared to do to just turn the wheel of life…

Darkness 2013

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

