Log 07-08-13 The South Westerly Monsoon

August 7, 2013

RSCN4651

- This morning at 0450. The rains came. I tasted it some two hours before it rolled over the peaks – the all too familiar metallic taste of nitrogen rich air is a sure sign that presages the arrival if the SW monsoon. This is the clearest indication (to me, at least) the monsoon has finally arrived.

At 0515, orders were relayed by to prepare for a push.

Fuck the weather reports! This is all I need to make a decision to commit on a go – we have been dilly dallying for weeks and it’s been making everyone jumpy and nervous.

I trekked up to the highlands with the tribesmen yesterday and camped there as conflicting weather reports and sat images appear to yield very little to confirm the arrival of the SW monsoon – this coupled with the erratic flowering pattern of palm along with other cash crops has made weather prediction particularly difficult, if not impossible this year.

- The section of my land adjacent to the river will have to manured today! As I expect the rains to hit the low lands fast and furious in this few days – I need to ensure that fertilization begins before the water table rises and the river burst it’s banks – yield in this section is low, I suspect due to run off and frequent incidences of the river bursting it’s banks.

- For three years I have tried in vain to transport my oil palm bunches through the treacherous serpentine plantation road – for three years, I have failed. However, I can take cold comfort in the idea this not a total failure – as on every single occasion – we have been able to glean vital information to allow us build core competencies to move extraordinary heavy loads through laterite and gravel plantation roads – I have so far built up at least 300 to 400 pages of information ranging for new bearings, tires, driving techniques along with countless retrofits to ensure that we are incrementally learning steadily even if we fail every year.

My failure has been marked with steady progress – as we seem to be able to go further and deeper into the jungle each year. This year, I don’t expect a break through. But since the lads have been conditioned to the harsh realities of field life on the move – I expect life to be grief free unlike earlier years where hygiene, lack of discipline along with low moral has militated against all prospects of a break thru.

This year like the rest, the drivers seem nervous – I can sense the fear – it is like an invisible vapor during the morning inspection before the big push – I must lead from the very front. I shall proceed this time when the weather is dry and clear to lift their spirits and when it rains along the way hopefully all hell will not break loose.

I am confident this time the discipline will hold unlike last year.

I cannot emphasize the strategic importance to transport heavy loads in the jungle – this is strategic, jugular and will be my wonder weapon against my enemies who seem to believe that I am land locked – this assumption has eroded my bargaining power with oil barons every single year when the rainy season comes.

If I am able to eliminate this one constraint in my supply chain. I would be able to outflank my enemies in one bold move – as it is the very idea that my destiny hinges on a couple of steel bridges and a few country road makes me very uncomfortable and nervous – I frequently tell myself, I am paranoid. Then again, I remind myself almost as soon as I am seized by these thoughts, it is precisely because of my paranoia that is why I have been able to outwit those who are out to ruin me each year.

My health seems to be deteriorating due to my inability to sleep.

No one must know that I have become an old man – I must be the man of steel.

I am unbreakable.

I am unbreakable.

I am hard as a diamond, absolutely impossible to break.

We will win!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

