Big holes

October 4, 2016

Walking around my lands these days can be a very scary proposition – as one will come across many holes. They vary in size from the small, medium to large. The largest can fit a whole six wheel lorry with room to spare for a Cherry QQ to top.

Many of the villagers think that I am a serial mass killer and these are mass graves. They probably think I am preparing for something macabre – as I am by nature a very quiet man who keeps mostly to myself.

But these holes are my way of responding to the the nutty weather we have been experiencing for the whole of this year and I expect it to continue to the next as well. Where it rains very heavily in short burst. Followed by four to five days of scorching hot weather. These reservoirs are designed to harvest valuable water on the hill top and slowly release them during the dry in between hot spell by capillary action.

I gathered this method by reading how the ancient Sumerians cultivated barley and wheat on terraces in the desert. The Sumerians were master planters who first used modern irrigation technology. They would dig holes in between trees on the terraces and harvest rain water. Water will slowly irrigate the plants from the highest level to the lowest by capillary action – it’s a very effective way to harvest water, minimize top soil run off and moisturize the soil to prevent it from drying out.

image

A very big hole with my new puppy called Highway. I found her on the highway. She may not be a very beautiful pup to many as all her proportions are all wrong…but to me she is very lovely and she keeps me company when I work in the field.

Leave a Reply

