Small House – Part 2

January 9, 2017

image

I will build it, 15 foot longer and maybe 3 foot wider, plan to have it on 14 foot stilts suspended in the air – the extra space would be to store farming stuff. As for the space below I can use it as a car park and a shelter for my dogs to either laze around or dry out during the rainy season.

Being raised that high is important in the tropics. As firstly, it’s super cool during the dry season and will not be prone to dampness and creepy crawlies….very clean.

Project Difficulty: 8

image

I like this idea of a platform to either laze around, read a book or maybe just chill. I like it very much. I even know where to get hold of Connolly leather as I have good connections with tanneries due to my past work experience as a shoe artist. Project difficulty, maybe 6.

image

Dark, sombre and minimalist lines naturally appeals to my nature….I am not so sure about the bin though.

image

This I like very much and can build without too much fuss. I especially like the spartan feel of the whole set up. Project difficulty: 2.

image

Since the shelter will be off the grid – I will only have six hours of solar powered battery time, which means lighting would have to be supplemented with candle power.

I am not too bothered about heat build up. As during the night it’s usually freezing in a plantation. I guess I could rig up a generator – but my feel is that would add unnecessary clutter to the whole philosophy of a shelter…that is to live a minimalist life that is always kind and considerate to Mother Nature.

Project difficulty: 1

image

This I consider the piece de resistance – an island cook module complete with raised skylight and an oven – this I absolutely cannot do without and shall copy 100% right down to the last rivet. As cooking is meditation to me. I rarely ever eat out as I am a professional chef and nothing gives me more pleasure than to cook at the end of hard day’s work – with the oven I can bake cookies as well….again not so sure about the bin.

Project difficulty: 5

image

“No te amo como si fueras rosa de sal, topacio
o flecha de claveles que propagan el fuego:
te amo como se aman ciertas cosas oscuras,
secretamente, entre la sombra y el alma.

Te amo como la planta que no florece y lleva
dentro de sí, escondida, la luz de aquellas flores,
y gracias a tu amor vive oscuro en mi cuerpo
el apretado aroma que ascendió de la tierra.

Te amo sin saber cómo, ni cuándo, ni de dónde,
te amo directamente sin problemas ni orgullo:
así te amo porque no sé amar de otra manera,

sino así de este modo en que no soy ni eres,
tan cerca que tu mano sobre mi pecha es mía,
tan cerca que cierran tus ojos con mi sueño.”

Leave a Reply

